Strange, but true, you might not believe it.

1915058_10154035545267650_7745602800238937856_n (1)

The wallpaper of my cell phone for several months now. (Photo source: Facebook)

(May 29,2016) – DUBAI- I was so eager to reach home and get hold of my laptop to start writing about my extraordinary experience this morning.

Have you ever encountered the spirit of a dead person, or at least seen signs of his or her presence when he /she had just passed away a month ago? I did. Today.

I knew about her and her physical conditions when I attended a program for the distressed Overseas Filipino Workers at the POLO-OWWA (Dubai) in October last year. A member of a Christian organization supporting cancer patients asked me a favor to feature this lady’s story in a weekly newspaper for the Filipino community.

She had a breast cancer that metastasized to her bones and in need of financial assistance. She had been battling the disease since 2013. Her name is Emilie Padua Ramos, 47 years old,  a single parent with two sons.

IMG_20160217_125224

My first visit and interview with Emilie in February 2016, during her chemotherapy at the Dubai Hospital (Photo by Lapis Mia)

We were strangers to each other. For four months, I only communicate with her through phone and Whatsapp until I finally met her in February during her chemotherapy session. I failed in my attempt to publish her story in some newspaper. I approached several publications but nothing happened, so i just dedicated a Facebook for her and other “kabayan” (fellow Filipino) cancer patients as I found out that in one hospital alone, there were 6 Filipinas undergoing chemotherapy at that same day. That sparked my cancer awareness campaign- to call the attention of the 800,000-strong Filipino community that there are people suffering from cancer and in need of support from their fellowmen. I must say, in need of that sense of belongingness too, being in a foreign country.

But she passed away last month due to complications. Her lungs and kidney weakened. I was there during her last few days, having spent a night watching over her and during her last few hours on earth.

Today, 34 days after her passing, I busy with my own personal dilemma. I was praying over a major decision I need to make and I was asking for Divine Intervention. I have work-related issues to settle when my phone rang and I answered it. A lady was following up my attendance in one event.

IMG-20160416-WA0000This photograph instantly appeared on the screen of my phone.  (Photo by Lapis Mia)

My phone which bears an inspirational artwork SUDDENLY  changed into a picture as I put the call down. Emilie appeared on my phone screen. A photograph of her while lying on a hospital bed with her family and friends including the lady who introduced her to me popped up. She was right there facing me.

When I shared this incident with a friend, she commented that maybe I pressed something on my phone that made the picture appear. Yes, it may be the case, however, out of the hundreds of photos on my library, why this one?

I believe she was with me  during my ordeal. She was my guardian angel; heaven sent to guide me along the way.

Thank you for being with me.

IMG_20160413_144438

Our only picture TWOGETHER.  She was weak but attentive to us when we visited her and still managed to smile at our jokes. I was trying to catch that smile. A week later, she passed away.

IMG-20151209-WA0016 

Emilie Ramos Padua is not only a beautiful lady as can be seen on this photograph but also creative,artistic, hardworking entrepreneurial, neat, classy, yet, above all descriptions that were given to her by her fellow OFWs who knew her for 13 year-long stay  in the United Arab Emirates, what I personally know about her is that she is a STRONG WOMAN and a LOVING MOTHER who fought for her life until life itself surrendered.

WRITER’s NOTE:

Emilie’s 40th Day after death will be on June 3, 2016. 

The 40th Day concludes the 40- day memorial period  and is observed by the Filipino families though it originated from traditions of Orthodox Slavs.

It is believed that the soul of the departed remains wandering on Earth during the 40 day period, coming back home, visiting places the departed has lived in as well as his fresh grave. The soul also completes the journey through the Aerial toll house finally leaving this world. The rituals during the period aim to let the soul go in order to keep it from returning and bothering the living. (source: Wikipedia) ####

Leave a Reply

